friday’s “secret” – “taking a genuine interest”

“The true secret of happiness lies in taking a genuine interest in the details of daily live.” -William Morris

As I was perusing the book Happier at Home by Gretchen Rubin (check the out the book here and where I talked about perusing the book here), I came across the above quote.

I am in total agreement with this statement.  I find that when I am particular, detailed, deliberate, and intentional, in almost all of the details of life, I enjoy life more.  When I know what I plan to accomplish that day and when I am methodical about making sure that I do it, there is a peace and satisfaction at the end of the day that leads to a feeling of contentment: a necessary element of my personal definition of happiness.

My personality lends itself to this type of “obsessive” behavior, however.  I love details, logistics, and planning.  But for others, I think, taking an interest in the minutia could  become tedious.  Thus, the quote could inspire them to take a genuine interest in those activities that they enjoy and not feel guilty about it.

What do you think? Leave your comments below.

4 thoughts on “friday’s “secret” – “taking a genuine interest”

  1. I read “taking a genuine interest” to mean doing something wholeheartedly – without multitasking or constantly letting yourself be interrupted! In other words, giving what’s interesting your undivided attention :). Hmm, now I should try this …

  2. Setting particular goals for the day and then accomplishing them helps me to feel fulfilled. The only way to achieve set goals is to focus on the deals, because why do somthing if you you are not going to do it right.

what do you think?

