Happy New Year!

NY 2-150-01

Happy New Year!

“…if one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life he has imagined, he will meet success unexpected in common hours.”

– Henry David Thoreau, Walden

“When a woman becomes her own best friend life is easier!”

– Diane Van Furstenberg

“When you’re stuck, pour on the major self-compassion.”

– Danielle LaPorte #truthbomb

Ever since I began the process of becoming intentional about my life, my New Year has shifted. It is no longer something that I dread – the tortured reminder of everything that I wanted to get done and didn’t (posting weekly in 2015, for example) – but the excited anticipation of what is to come (posting weekly in 2016, ha!)

I am choosing to look forward, to not dwell longingly in the past with tears of lamentation – I am not joking here; I have done this! You can ask my Hubby.

In 2016, I have goals! Mercy, do I have goals: running a half marathon is one that may beg reconsideration. However, for me, my goals will not be my focus. I am choosing to focus on continuing the process of becoming my own best friend and living the life that I’ve imagined. And when, not if, I get stuck, pouring on major self-compassion.

I wish the same for you!

Happy New Year!

5 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Yes. I agree with Jamila that your post is beautifully written! I concur with you that we need to learn how to be our own best friend and the concept shared to pour on self-compassion WHEN we get stuck and not if we get stuck. It’s okay and human, and inevitable to get stuck at times. Let’s just not stay there! Moving forward in 2016! Wishing all of us the very best in this new year! (You might want to consider joining our new ladies group of live teleconferences on the 2nd and 3rd Thursday’s of the month and share with us live some of your inspiration.)

what do you think?

