quick lit – next page, please {march 2016}

 

 I love Quick Lit time – time to post what I have been reading this month.

Read:

  • The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin: Modern Mrs. Darcy (Yes, her again! LOL) recommended this book for someone who has the Meyers-Briggs personality type of ISTJ: capable, logical, reasonable and peaceful, which happens to be close to my type, as the perfect summer read. The only problem was that it took FOREVER to get it from the library. I absolutely LOVED this book and I can see while the Hold list was so long; it has climbed the ladder to be one of my favorite novels of all time. I blew through this during the 3 and ½ hour flight home. So many great quotes. “He feels naked when speaking about things he really loves.” I feel like this too. And “Sometimes books don’t find us until the right time. Also very true, indeed.
  • Wildflower by Drew Barrymore: I really liked reading this series of short stories about Barrymore’s life and what she learned through them. Here she talks about her feelings for her mom; who quite arguably, could have been a better mom. “I want only to say thank you to her, because I love my life and it takes every step to get to where you are, and if you are happy, then God bless the hard times it took you to get there. No life is without them, so what are yours, and what did you do with the lessons? That is the only way to live.” My question to myself has become just that: what I am doing with my lessons?
  • French Women Don’t Get Fat: The Secret of Eating for Pleasure by Mireille Guiliano: I started reading Bringing Up Bébé by Pamela Druckerman and became fascinated by the French mindset of how they enjoy life: living every moment in that moment. I remembered hearing about this book a long time ago and Oprah and decided to pick it up and see what it was about. I finished this one but am still working through Bringing Up Bébé. My two takeaways are from these two quotes: (1) “I also had to cultivate my appreciation for what I was having. In short, …[the] French way of enjoying those foods that can be friend or foe depending on how we treat them. The keys are sensory awareness, portion sense, quality, and an eye to the big picture of overall wellness.” And (2) “If you can’t name your pleasures, chances are you’ve surrendered to many of them. It’s time to start cultivating.” A problem that I have had until recently.
  • Every Day I Fight by Stuart Scott: When I met my basketball-loving Hubby 13 years ago, I started watching ESPN’s Sportscenter with him, which was often anchored by Stuart Scott. I began to feel like I knew him, I saw him so often. When he was first diagnosed with cancer, of course, I was aware and we saw him fight and go into remission a number of times. When he died January 4, 2015, it hit me a little hard. I loved this book because it gave me a perspective into what those who are fighting cancer may feel like in a way I pray selfishly, I will never be able to understand. This perspective is invaluable to me as I am a Chemo Card Angel. More about that here. I loved this quote by Scott:“Nerves are good. What are nerves, after all? They’re just energy.” Sometimes it’s hard working up the nerve to write these blog posts, I gotta tell ya!

Currently Reading:

Paused Reading

  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee: Had to return this one to the library (someone wanted it) and thus will have to get back to it later.
  • Daring Greatly by Brené Brown: Yep, still paused.
  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak: While not my favorite way to read, there is something to be said about reading books digitally, on a Kindle or other mobile device. You can do it while you are traveling at night! Started this while returning from my 10 Year Anniversary Trip. Haven’t been in the dark since and thus my digital loan expired. Not sure if I am going to re-borrow it but I am leaving the door open.

I have read 12 books out of my goal to read 36 books this year; I am 5 books ahead of schedule – a nice cushion for the Holidays when things get hectic.  I don’t want to have to make a big push at the end of the year to make my reading goal.

As usual, I am linking up with Modern Mrs. Darcy. Check out what everyone else is reading over there.

What have you been reading?

11 thoughts on “quick lit – next page, please {march 2016}

  1. rhoffnagle says:

    I adored The Storied Life of AJ Fickery too! There’s something extra special when reading books about books/booksellers. I’m usually wary of celebrity memoirs, but Wildflower sounds decent. I’ll have to search for it at the library…

  2. GingerG says:

    I recently read Wildflower and enjoyed it more than I thought I would. I also noted her perspective on her parents was pretty amazing, considering she had every right to be angry or bitter at them. In my opinion, I think you’re good to not go back to the Book Thief. I felt like it dragged on 100 pages too long. I think I might be the only one that feels that way since everyone loved that book. This almost never happens but I think the movie is better.

  3. Joy says:

    My book goal is lower this year (15) so I can re-read some of my favorite series. I’m re-reading Harry Potter right now – on book three! It’s fun because I read these the first time in middle school/high school and didn’t see the movies, so it’s still suspenseful! I have lots of new books on hold at the library though and will be starting “Back Blast” by Mark Greaney after I finish this Potter book. I’m going to put a couple of the books you mentioned on hold too!

  4. Paula, The Geeky Shopaholic says:

    Stuart Scott was always one of my favorite anchors on Sportscenter. I loved his line, “cooler than the other side of the pillow.” And Drew Barrymore is one of my favorite actresses. I don’t really read memoirs but maybe I should make an exception for these. 🙂

    • shannanenjoyslife says:

      I know these books are out of your normal genre but I think you should give them a try. Wildflower pretty much is a number of short stories so very low commitment.:) Let me know what you think?!?!

what do you think?